Nearly half of all marriages end in divorce. Child custody laws throughout the United States seek to provide order to the transition from a unified family to a separated family.
Child Support Enforcement in Nevada is a family-first program intended to: ensure children have the financial and medical support of both their parents; to foster responsible behavior towards children; to emphasize children need to have both parents involved in their lives; and, to reduce welfare costs.
Nevada child support is calculated by taking a percentage of the non-custodial parent’s gross income.
“Gross monthly income” is defined as “the total amount of income received each month from any source of a person who is not self-employed, or the gross income from any source of a self-employed person, after deduction of all legitimate business expenses, but without deduction for personal income taxes, contributions for retirement benefits, contributions to a pension or for any other personal expenses.”
The non-custodial parent’s gross income should be multiplied by the following percentages to determine the child support amount:
- For one child, 18 percent
- For two children, 25 percent
- For three children, 29 percent
- For four children, 31 percent, and
- For each additional child, an additional 2 percent
Willful unemployment is not a sufficient cause to deviate from the court awarding a minimum amount.